3rd Day of Clinicals

If you guys read my previous post (https://scrubsandstuff.wordpress.com/2014/11/15/2nd-and-worst-day-of-clinicals/) then you all know how much I was dreading going to clinicals on Monday. I was so unsure that I would be able to give the right care because I felt a total lack in confidence in anything I was to do in the facility. Well, it didn’t go as horrible as I thought!

Monday started with gathering together to make a “game plan” and if you’re at all like me? I survive off plans! I need plans and goals or I’ll go insane! Once we knew our game plan (like dining at 1700 and in bed by 2000) we’re turned loose on to the floor. We started by checking vital signs which is a lot more confusing than it should be. They have one machine that you wheel to your resident and it takes everything for you! I doubted it on blood pressure so I ended up taking that manually but overall it was pretty cool. My resident was 102 ½ years old! And even though she has lived for over a century she is almost completely independent and can talk like you or I! The only reason she was in the facility was for rehabilitation because she broke her shoulder and the medications make it difficult for her to be completely independent. Despite all this, I was in awe of this woman’s spirit! Needless to say, I’ll be the first to admit that I was fearful to care for her… Not because she wasn’t sweet or kind and not because she needed a ton of help, but because I was afraid that I would do more harm than good with her as my first resident and me lacking the confidence from the week before…

Which is why, I am proud to say that I really did okay on my first solo day! I made mistakes but nothing that would have been a safety or an infection control mistake. I caught a lot of my mistakes and was able to fix them. I did her nails a vibrant pink, which she loved! She kept showing everyone that she had been “beautified” and “pampered”. She was very happy! She asked me what the color of the nail polish was… It was Scandal! She laughed and just fell in love with it! I was even able to work on a few more of my skills even though she was pretty independent which means not as many skills as I wished but beggars can’t be chooser’s!

Over all, the 3rd day of clinicals was pretty good. There were ups and downs but I don’t feel as dejected as I did. I don’t think I’ll stop feeling a lack in confidence until I get a totally dependent patient. Because right now it’s just stand by assist! I’m helping someone who can do everything basically on their own. I know it’ll be much more difficult when I care for a resident who can do nothing on their own. I think that’s what I fear the most…

Makayla

P.S. Do any of you know the cause and treatment of a “leaky foot”? One of the residents’ had a leaky foot and it was sopping wet all the time. It wasn’t blood, it was like a clearish yellow liquid that was constantly draining. The nurses wouldn’t wrap it so the foot just sat on an incontinent pad all day and was “floated” over it at bedtime. The bottom of the foot was like a normal callused foot. I think it’s like a blister or a sore that popped but would something like that just constantly drain for an entire day? Why wouldn’t the nurses wrap it?

2 thoughts on “3rd Day of Clinicals

  1. Thank you! I would love to hear about your patients! I’m dying to hear both good and bad storied in the “Real World!” 🙂

    Isn’t the leaky foot thing so strangely interesting???

    Like

Leave a Reply

