4th Day of Clinicals

Clinicals was different… I was assigned today with a resident who had had a stroke and for some reason was on morphine. (The nurse failed to let my professor or I know that she was on Morphine…honestly, her chart said walk to dine and my professor and I were all set to get her walking to the dining room! Needless to say, I now know firsthand the effects of Morphine on a resident and they can walk but it’s very drowsy almost drunk like…I would’ve never tried to walk her if I’d known beforehand she was on such a high dosage.)She has three daughters who are very involved in the care of their mother. Honestly, I think it was the most beautiful thing I’d ever seen. These three daughters were all caring for their mother and doing the exact skills that my classmates and I were doing. But what we were doing to be kind, and helpful these three women were doing out of love. It puts a twist on the way you look at it. However, I’ll admit, at the time I was quite frazzled because I was unsure what I was to do, I have to respect the family but at the same time I want to learn- a bit of a battle in my heart but I figured that these three daughters wanted to do this, the most I could do was offer my assistance and grab them any supplies they may need. I helped my resident a few times but I was mostly just assistance to the daughters should they need anything. So I helped other residents when the call light went on and I helped one of my classmates.

My classmate “B” (An amazing woman who I’m pretty sure will be the greatest CAN/NAC or Nurse the world has ever seen!) had a resident who was a two person transfer with a bad knee and had to be on oxygen at all times. She is the very kind and not combative at all, in fact she liked “being the boss of the students” it made her feel important to teach us how she liked things done. “B” and I were able to do quite a few skills on this resident, including our first time with a two person transfer resident. However, when our professor said that a two person transfer isn’t very difficult, she did not specify that if the resident is bigger than you (“B” and I are both pretty short and petite) it is much more difficult and you can get hurt more than the resident.

The resident was in her wheelchair and we needed to get her to the bed. “B” and I did everything correctly, put on the gait belt, grabbed the sides, “1..2..3” the resident stood up, we supported her, then we asked her to step to the side just a bit so that she could sit on the bed. “B” and I moved beautifully! The resident dug her heels in just enough that “B” and I moved back to the resident and then the resident decided to step…on my heel/ankle. Ouch! I didn’t register the pain until I walked out of the room. I guess once I lost my focus on the resident then my brain decided to let me know that I was hurt. I’m lucky I keep sport tape in my bag because I was able to use paper towels and my tape to support my heel until I could look at it properly at home. (Note to all my readers! BE PREPARED!) My foot is mostly just bruised slightly around the heel and the back of my ankle (how this happened exactly is still a mystery!) and I can walk better. I’m keeping it wrapped for tomorrow’s clinicals but I think it’s just bruised and got tweaked the wrong way. Nothing broken or fractured though! Thank the Lord!

The only advice I wish to share is something EVERYONE needs to hear. Being a CAN/NAC you are subjected to the State Laws…and your own moral code. I had one mentor on the floor tell “B” and I that since “B’s” resident refused to brush her teeth at 1900 (the time we were getting off the floor) that we were to put “refused care on the charts”. At 1900! Most residents tend to brush their teeth at all times, until 2200! You are not supposed to chart “refused care” until at least 2200 hours! That is lazy charting. And that shows her moral code. If you get pulled into court, you better be ready to stand by everything you put down because I can guarantee you that NO ONE will be by your side. They are going to cover their own butts not yours. My advice to you? If you were to go to court, would you be able to truthfully stand by what you wrote down? If not, change it and make sure you protect yourself because no one will help you when the SHTF.

Other than that, clinicals was pretty simple. I got stepped on, ambulated, dressed and toileted, did peri-care, socialized and helped with most ADL’s for a few residents including my own and with “B”. I charted CORRECTLY and I now understand the moral character of at least half of the employees at the facility. Tomorrow, I have been assigned to TWO residents who are two person transfers! GAH! I’m not ready yet!!! And neither is my foot!! If you happen to look at the clock and see it’s between 1530-2000 hours say a little prayer for me! I just may need it!

Leave a Reply

