I PASSED!!!!!!!! (Passing the CNA/NAC State Examination! DETAILS!)

Here is the proof! I passed both examinations! :)
Here is the proof! I passed both examinations! 🙂

So if any of you saw my earlier post then you know how I did on my State Exam… I PASSED!!! 🙂

So as promised here are the details:

First, State Exam is really stressful. It’s not so much that I didn’t feel like I knew the material; because I did know my stuff! I have an amazing professor to prove it too! It’s just State. The word “State Exam” just makes everything ten times more stressful than it needs to be.

So lets start at the beginning of my day!

I woke up at 5:30 am so that I could make it to my written exam that started at 8 am. However, the State REQUIRES you to be there a half hour earlier. So I was there by 7:15 am. I get there and I check in at 7:30 am. To check in consisted of showing up, walking up to the State evaluator and showing her two (2) forms of ID. A picture ID and ID with a signature matching that ID. That should be simple for everyone right? I mean this exam is so you can be a Nursing Assistant. It’s the first rung on the ladder! It seemed like I was the only one who really cared about this test, because about one half of the class came in with no organization! It took some people 15 minutes to find ID that would work for this test! I think planning ahead would’ve been smarter! Regardless, I got in no problem!

Once checked in, we listened to the instructions and then we took the written exam. It was surprisingly easy. I mean don’t get me wrong there were some tough questions and some questions that I had no idea about and I don’t even think I learned! But I took the test as calmly as possible (I had the Avenger’s theme song stuck in my head! And that made it so much easier to not have an anxiety attack! How cool would it be to be Black Widow? Or Iron Man? Or Captain America???)

I finished the exam in 45 minutes. You’re given two hours. Needless to say, my professor was right. Don’t study for the written exam. It’s common sense and stuff you already learned in the CNA/NAC course. I didn’t need to stress out about it!

By the time everyone finished it was about 9:30 am. The evaluator went and faxed our results back to Texas and then Texas sent them back to us. I PASSED THE WRITTEN EXAMINATION!! 🙂

Then the evaluator told us our role as the patient when it’s our turn. We are to be a coherent elder who needs help with ADL’s (Activities of Daily Living) but can still talk, understand, walk and function normally. Then we toured the area we would be tested in and then began the waiting game.

I waited four hours. I finished knitting a pair of socks, I also knitted half a hat, I got lunch, I ran an errand that was a block away, I chatted with a friend who works nearby , I called three people and then texted the eleven people I was determined to have by my side (figuratively) through every step of this adventure and I still managed to get bored and so much more anxious by the time my turn came again at 2:00 pm.

I was NERVOUS! I was the patient first and my partner, AK (not the gun! 🙂 ) was being tested. (She passed by the way! I’m super proud of her!). Then it was my turn.

I looked at my list.

  1. Hand washing: that’s a given, easy and I got that!
  2. Radial Pulse: Pulse is easy too, I can do that! (I was secretly happy it wasn’t blood pressure! I love taking blood pressure but I’m not confident in it to be STATE TESTED on it!)
  3. Catheter Care: I knew I had that one down! I could finish it correctly in less than five minutes!
  4. Personal Protective Equipment (PPE): This is EASY! I have this one down since we learned it! It’s like cosplaying almost! I can pretend to be the hazmat suited guys on TV!
  5. TED hose (Elastic stocking): This I already mastered! I knew this!

Once I saw my list, my nerves just kind of flew away! I knew this stuff. I knew it like it was the back of my hand. And looking on it now, I don’t recall missing anything. I can’t think of a single instance where I wasn’t sure if I did it right or not. If my professor is reading this? I hope she knows what an amazing professor she was/is. Everything she taught us made State Examinations super easy! So Thank you!

Once I finished my Skills Examination I had to wait another hour to get my results back. I PASSED SKILLS EXAMINATION!!!!

Overall? I probably stressed for no reason, but I passed and as soon as the State receives their own copy you are looking at the next CERTIFIED Nursing Assistant! 🙂

Merry Christmas!

Makayla

Leave a Reply

