Book Review: Antigoddess By: Kendare Blake

AntigoddessAntigoddess is the first book in the Goddess War series written by Kendare Blake. It’s set in a modern take on Greek Mythology and it involves the immortal Greek gods and goddess’ dying. How can IMMORTAL Greek gods and goddess’ die? That’s exactly what our main character’s Athena and Hermes are trying to find out. With Athene slowly dying by way of owl feathers sprouting beneath her skin, in her lungs and organs like a feathered cancer, and Hermes dying of a fever eating away his flesh, their slow deaths are anything but heroic. But they are ironic. Each god and goddess is battling a slow death that is completely ironic to them.

The book is basically like a race against time. The dying immortal gods and goddess’ are desperately trying to figure out why they are dying. Some don’t care and welcome death, some are banding up against each other to form a war (that we don’t find out the reason in book one) and others want nothing to do with a war and are content to run.

The main characters are Athena and Hermes traveling the world in search of answers of their unfortunate, and rather painful, demises. They receive a tip that the one person who could help them is an ordinary girl who was once the great prophetess in the Trojan War, Cassandra. The story switches between Athena and Hermes and Cassandra and her boyfriend. According to the tip that Athena receives, Cassandra doesn’t remember ever being involved in the business of gods—in fact she doesn’t even know they exist. However, if Athena can make her remember her past life, then she just maybe the key to a war that is  just beginning.

I honestly love Greek mythology and was excited to read this book. It had Greek gods and goddess’, Cassandra of Troy, the Trojan War and it was a modern take on Greek mythology! What could possibly go wrong?

A lot.

For me this book was a disappointment. While the history is written well, I couldn’t bring myself to understand the modern take of the gods and goddess’. Some made sense, but others like Athena, I couldn’t comprehend. Cassandra of Troy, who is an extraordinary prophetess, was portrayed weaker than I anticipated. Her entire demeanor went weak when it came to the point in history where she met and remembered Apollo (the god who made her a Seer and then cursed her so that no one would believe her true predictions). She was cursed by a god that “loved” her! There should be a bit more rage, more resentment.

I was also disappointed in the action scenes. I love a good fight scene, a scene where as you read you’re in the story, fighting alongside the characters. You can feel their pain, their anguish and their victories. I felt nothing when I read the Antigoddess’ action scenes.

BUT! It may not be the book to blame. It could be my own personal troubles that I have been experiencing but this book never gripped me and pulled me into its pages. It took me over two weeks to finish this novel when I should’ve finished it in a couple of days at most. Some book reviews I’ve seen of this book showed people loving its contents. Reviews that told readers that they were trapped and intrigued by the story. I don’t doubt them, it is their opinion. My opinion was that this book made me frustrated rather than happy to have read it

I finally finished it when I was heading up to Seattle Swing. And my friends were quite amused by my constant commentary on my frustration with the book. 🙂

I will admit though, that the deaths for which our gallant gods and goddess’ were experiencing were well written. I loved how each death was ironic to each being. I loved the way Kendare Blake portrayed Hera and I liked how the immortal beings actually had to side with or against each other as death was upon them. I found that pretty fascinating that these high and mighty gods and goddess’ had to come to the realization that immortality apparently was not forever.

However, if you are a person who likes Greek mythology, who is interested on a new spin that modernizes Greek gods, goddess’ and prophetess’ then I believe you should read the book. This Young Adult book still had some good points even though my frustrations had me chuck it across the room more than once. As I stated before, I loved the way the book was written in terms of the ironic deaths and you may end up liking it more than I did. It isn’t written poorly, slightly slow until you get into the middle, but it does have quite a few twists, turns and surprises throughout the novel. I personally give the book 3 stars out of 5.

If you do decide to read it, please share with me how much you liked the book! I’d love to hear your take on the book and find out other books that people would like reviewed.

Makayla

One thought on “Book Review: Antigoddess By: Kendare Blake

Leave a Reply

