Anna Dressed in Blood By Kendare Blake Book Review

Anna Dressed in BloodAfter reading Antigoddess and not being completely satisfied with it, a friend of mine asked me to try another one of Kendare Blake’s books, Anna Dressed in Blood. Before I go into the book, which I ended up liking, remember my love for Supernatural [Day 1 and Day 2]?? I found out why I liked this book much more than Antigoddess, because this book is almost EXACTLY like Supernatural.

Anna Dressed in Blood is the first book of this series written by Kendare Blake. It is written about a young ghost hunter named Theseus Cassio Lowood, who goes by Cas for short. (Sound familiar?). He kills ghosts with a blade that has been in his family for generations. Cas travels all over the world and killing ghosts that have gone mad/insane and began to hurt people/ (honestly, are you seeing the familiarity??)

Cas started hunting when his father was brutally murdered by a ghost and now Cas is training to be strong enough to avenge his father, until he gets called to go find, and then kill, Anna. Anna is an unusually strong ghost who’s been killing anyone who enters her house in Thunder Bay for the last fifty years. Basically it’s your boy-meets-girl, and girl-kills-people novel.

However, things don’t go the way they should in Thunder Bay. A harmless prank goes wrong, murders pop up, a mysterious friend is made and not everyone, or everything, is what they seem.

I actually really liked the way this book was written, although I do question how Kendare Blake got around the obvious ideas and scripts of the TV series, Supernatural. Seriously, there were so many obvious character names, ideas, plots, etc. that I have seen in the TV series! However, Kendare Blake did do a good job of making the story suck you in. The fight scenes were much better than Antigoddess I could actually feel the pain that I was reading and that was an improvement from my last book from Kendare Blake.

There were times in the book when one of the characters would annoy me but usually they improved a bit by the end. I wish Kendare Blake had expanded a bit on her side characters. She could’ve done a lot with some of the characters but decided to just let them fizzle out. Or she focused on the wrong characters to expand. The 2D portrayals of the characters ended up making the book very predictable and seem, for lack of a better word, simple. Since this is the first book in the series, and I have not read the rest of the books, then I could be wrong about the character development but this is my initial reaction to the set of characters.

If you love Supernatural, paranormal novels, or stories of young teenagers having to go out and kill evil, this book is for you. I you are queasy with blood and guts, or get scared really, really, really easily then perhaps don’t read this before bedtime. However, it isn’t a Stephen King novel…honest… it’s not that scary! This is a very mild, paranormal book. If you hate books that have red ink, or you can’t see red ink well then this book maybe a problem for you. I don’t mind books with colored ink, but some people disagree. Anna Dressed in Blood uses a darker red ink which can be hard on some people’s eyes.

All in all it was a good book, I wanted to finish the book and read to the end. I loved some of the characters even if the other half of the characters were insufferable. (FYI: You will end up loathing Mike, Will and Chase. I did and I seethed about them for a good hour before I could go back to the book.) I give the book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Makayla

3 thoughts on “Anna Dressed in Blood By Kendare Blake Book Review

  1. I have this book at home, but I’ve never picked it up to read… not sure why. I just always seemed to find something else I wanted to read more… But I think I’ll try and get to it soon now 🙂 Great post!!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I have some books at home that I’m not sure why I haven’t read yet either! They just kind of stay on my “To be read” bookshelf! 🙂
      When you finish Anna Dressed in Blood let me know what you think!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

