Cinder By: Marissa Meyer

Cinder is a talented cyborg mechanic living in New Beijing, China. In this day and age, the entire planet has been hit with a horrible illness called simply, the plague. Cinder lives a normal life in Commonwealth on Earth, or as normal as a cyborg living through a plague can live. Her life is a bit difficult given how no one knows her past, her step mother treats her as a slave and then when her beloved step-sister gets sick with the plague, her stepmother blames her for that too. Blamed and treated as a slave is the norm for a cyborg. On Earth, being a cyborg means that you’re less than human, just because part of her is metal and wires. But then her life crosses paths with the Prince and she finds herself in unusual predicaments. She finds the key to her mysterious past, forbidden love, intergalactic war and how the secret that was her past may be the saving grace needed for the future.

Cinder, book one in a four part series called the Lunar Chronicles, was an incredibly good spinoff of a common known fairytale. Creating Cinderella as not just a servant, but a cyborg? Extremely bold, and in this case amazing, idea by Marissa Meyer which I feel she handled well. I rather liked the book, it was a pretty quick read for me but then again I’m a sucker for retellings of fairy tales! I found that the book had a lot of unsolved questions for me, and I didn’t latch to Cinder’s character as much but it didn’t make me like the book any less. Predictable in some areas, and not in others I found myself on the last chapter before I knew it! It was so good that I read the rest of the books that were out in the series. I did like how there was no instantaneous love between Cinder and her Prince, and how this wasn’t a, “make love the main purpose of the storyline” book. There was action, pain, and a slight mystery trying to unfold some of the characters and events in the book.

Overall, Cinder was a really great read and I liked it a lot. I liked the idea and concept; I just had trouble connecting with Cinder’s character. But I loved the plots and I loved hearing about the plague and this new war entering into the storyline. Because it is the first book in a four book series, it does end on a cliffhanger and because I’ve read up to the third book so far, I can honestly say that the series gets better with each book! All in all I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because it was pretty good. I’d recommend this to, probably, anyone over the age of 12 or 13 since the descriptions of the plague could frighten anyone younger- not that it was that detailed, but imagination can get carried away. If you like action, cyborgs, space travel, sassy and sarcastic answers and all things fairytales then I believe this book would be for you.

Up next: Scarlet (book two) By Marissa Meyer 

Makayla

13 thoughts on “Cinder By: Marissa Meyer

  1. Thanks for the recommendations 🙂 I read your review of Cinder and decided to check it out. I then finished Cinder, Scarlet and Cress in two days. And I love them. They’re easy reads, but super interesting and very well written.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so happy my review was inspiring enough that you read the book too! That completely made my day! I’m also so incredibly happy that you loved the series! And read them all right away! They are easy reads but the imagery and the plot line are just so…so…perfect!
      Of the three which was your favorite? Mine was Cress, and I’m unsure exactly why but I think it’s because Thorne reminds me of Flynn Rider and that he fell in love with her (you know its true!) not based on sight. Which in itself is pretty cute! I also love how she, being sheltered her whole life, didn’t complain but did as much as possible. She was strong in a different way then Cinder or Scarlet.
      Since you read all three, I definitely recommend reading Fairest by the same author. It gives you insight into Queen Levana’s past and it’s pretty good too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really loved Cinder, then I read the other two, and loved them too. I literally couldn’t stop reading, I was totally caught up in the story and needed to find out what happened next haha. If I had to choose, I think I’d choose Cress as my favourite too. She wasn’t physically strong but had a strength and mental fortitude beyond her young age. I’ll have to check out Fairest, I can’t wait to find out what happens in the final book.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Winter (the final book) seems like it is going to be one plot twist after another! I’m pretty excited for it!
        I totally understand! I couldn’t stop reading once I started! It’s like the book had sucked me into it’s pages and held me there!
        I think Cress was pretty wise for how young she was and I find her strength inspiring. I’m glad you liked them!
        Fairest, just as a warning, is a little bit dark and twisted but then again so is the Queen. It’s also a lot shorter then the other books but at the end of Fairest is a little chapter on Winter so be prepared to be even more eager for Winter! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ll definitely have to read Fairest now, especially if they include a chapter of Winter 🙂 They’ve got a lot of ground to cover in that last book, looking forward to seeing how everything resolves.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Me too! I wonder how the author is going to manage to tie up the storyline… It should be a captivating read regardless though! I’ll try to type up my review of Fairest for you this weekend too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

