Cress By Marissa Meyers

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run from Queen Levana and her entire army. Along the way they picked up Scarlet and Wolf and together, they are on a mission overthrow Queen Levana and her army. And they haven’t a clue how until they meet Cress.
Cress is a young girl who has been imprisoned on a satellite above Earth’s atmosphere. Stranded since childhood all that kept her company were the computers and net-screens that she was given by the woman who imprisoned her. Here, she became Queen Levana’s personal hacker and computer engineer. And with all that time being stuck in a satellite, Cress became very good at all things hacker related. And unfortunately, the Queen has just ordered Cress to hunt down Cinder.
Hoping to be free of her satellite, Cress devises a plan to help Cinder, if they’ll rescue her from her satellite. But Cress’s freedom comes with a terribly high price. During Cress’s hopes of stepping on Earth soil, Queen Levana is willing to burn the entire world in her efforts to be married to the Prince so she can rule Earth and Lunar. Pretty soon, Cress, Thorne, Cinder, Scarlet and Wolf begin to realize how big a war they were entering into, and how much the world was counting on them to succeed.
I thought I loved the second book, Scarlet (Book 2), but after reading Cress I realized that it was beyond the wow factor. In fact, I believe it is my favorite book in the series so far! How often do you come across a series where the third book in the series is your favorite? I can’t count the times where I read a series where the best book was the first book. So, again, I found myself hesitant to read Cress, but those worries proved to be unnecessary.

Cress is so much better than the previous books in the series. Cinder (Book 1), I thought, had issues with predictability, and the fact that I just didn’t love Cinder’s character. Cress’s plot was noticeably tighter and the characters were incredibly well written. In Scarlet, though I loved that book, Cress beat it hands down. It was action-packed, exciting, and I couldn’t put it down. The few times I did have to put it down to go to work, or eat, or sleep- it was all I could think of! I can’t really go into more depth, because I feel that it would be too many spoilers in order to get my point across. However, I was very surprised at the extent Marissa Meyer’s was willing to take her characters and for this reason, I highly recommend that parents read the series’ first and anyone under the age of 13 find a different novel to read. (Update: This is not to say that children wouldn’t like the storyline, but there are some content that children, with their wonderful imaginations, could end up having nightmares over. I for one would not like that to happen.)
Overall I was amazed and extremely impressed with Cress and I can truthfully say that the series gets better with each book written. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars because it is my new favorite book right now. It was really that good! I’d recommend this to anyone 12-13 or older just like in Cinder and Scarlet and to anyone who likes action, damsel’s in distress, Rapunzel, a growing plot of awesomeness, cyborgs, space travel, sassy, sarcastic answers and all things fairytales.

Makayla

One thought on “Cress By Marissa Meyers

Leave a Reply

