The Fairest Beauty By: Melanie Dickerson

A retelling of Snow White and Cinderella, The Fairest Beauty, is about a young girl named Sophie. Sophie dreams of being able to escape her evil stepmother’s jealousy and anger. Gabe dreams of being able to be a daring knight that his older brother will take notice of. Together, the two go on a twisting journey to escape the wrath of the evil stepmother. As they travel across the land they have to figure out who they can trust while also protecting each other from the dangers of the world and they must protect their hearts.

The Fairest Beauty is a Christian based fairytale retelling. This book has several bad reviews because it’s considered, “Cliché”, “Too Christian heavy”, “Cheesy”, etc. Well, it’s all of those things and I still thought it was pretty good too.

Here’s why:

It is a fairytale retelling. I actually liked the Christian references thrown throughout the book-I don’t read very much of that and it was nice to see the hero and heroine prays to God in times of trouble. Some of the bad reviews I read were upset that the author put so much of Christianity in the book but I saw nothing wrong with it. It wasn’t preachy; the author wasn’t harping on the reader to accept Christianity, she merely allowed her characters to pray in times of trouble, to rely on God and to live in a Godly way. The Fairest Beauty was cliché and cheesy but that’s fairytales for you! Not every author is going to take a fairytale and rewrite the main character’s personality. Don’t get me wrong I love it when Snow White becomes a ninja warrior fighting against evil instead of being a “Mary Sue” but at the same time- I like all fairytales, even when they are cheesy. Melanie Dickerson did a nice job of writing the story and sticking pretty close to the fairytale while simultaneously making the tale her own.

I’m not a fan of a character being weak to get the prince, but that didn’t make the book bad in my eyes- just different. I liked the author’s version of the seven dwarves and how each “dwarf” was different not just to the fairytale version of Grumpy, Happy, Sneezy, Doc, Dopey, Sleepy, and Bashful but different than any retelling I have read so far. It was refreshing.

Overall, I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars. It was a super-fast read and I wasn’t bored with reading it. I actually finished it in about four hour’s total. I’d recommend it to anyone who enjoys retellings of fairytales and Christian novels. And children would probably love the book too!

Have you read The Fairest Beauty? What did you think of it? Was it as bad as the reviews on Goodreads? Or did you think that maybe the readers on Goodreads had misjudged this book?

Makayla

Leave a Reply

