Beastly Bones By William Ritter

Beastly Bones By William Ritter

Beastly Bones, a sequel to Jackaby, is a lot like the first book. Mystery and a little bit of Supernatural, Doctor Who and Sherlock all rolled into one short novel. Beastly Bones begins with vicious shape-shifters, cats that turn into fish, mysterious murders all with a single puncture wound, dinosaur bones, a cursed dig site and more of those mysterious murders as Jackaby and Abigail travel to New Fiddleham, New England to solve the case and hunt down a thief, a monster, and a murderer. Only question is: Is it three suspects? Or one?

This sequel, though slightly less “Sherlock-like” then the first book, is still an amazing read. It’s quirky, quick and kept me interested as I read it all in less than four hours. I loved the old characters, Jackaby, Abigail, Charlie, Jenny and Marlowe, and the new characters Hank and Nellie made me laugh. My favorite characters are still Jackaby and Abigail and how they work together. I like their relationship, both friendship and professional, and how Abigail asserts herself a bit more in this book. She looks out for Jackaby and in turn he gives her advice, whether it is on relationships (which is truly hilarious) or with the case or other friendships. The book was a good read even though the mystery-plot was a bit weaker and I had solved the mystery sooner. It bothered me a bit that it was a bit weaker but not to the extent of wishing the book was over sooner, or thinking that it was dragging on. If you want a book that drags on, read Immortal Beloved. The only thing that truly bugged me about Beastly Bones was that there wasn’t enough Jackaby “screen-time!” The main character seemed incredibly distant and I wanted to have a bit more of his logical, but not scientific, sleuthing skills.

I still recommend Jackaby and Beastly Bones; just know that the mystery is downplayed a bit in the sequel. I’m sure his next book will bump right up though. Overall, I really recommend this book to anyone. I can’t see it scaring the younger ones and it’ll still interest the older ones and the ones who are young at heart. Overall, I give Beastly Bones a 3.5 or 4 out of 5 stars.

Have you read Beastly Bones? What did you think? Have you read Jackaby?

Makayla

Leave a Reply

