The Queen of the Tearling Book Review

The Queen of the Tearling By: Erika Johansen

Young Kelsea Raleigh was raised in hiding after the assassination of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the palace from which she was born. Sent instead to live with two dedicated servants who pledged their lives to protect her from harm, she grew up in a cottage deep in the woods. A long time ago, Kelsea’s forefathers journeyed away from a crumbling world in order to break away from modern technology and become a free land. Three hundred years later, this supposed utopian society has divided into three nations who pay to a fourth: the Mortmesne, dictated by the Red Queen. Kelsea, knowing little of her kingdom’s horror-infused past, is picked up by the ragged, but extremely loyal, remains of the Queen’s Guard on her nineteenth birthday to start the perilous journey to her rightful place as the new Queen of the Tearling. Little does she know that she’s the only one who can turn her kingdom away from the dark and back into the light.This book was pretty good; there were parts where it was very slow and where I began to realize that my brain could not handle some of the details of this “new world”. It is a dystopian future book but it’s hard to wrap your brain around it because, in this book, the future has no modern technology. No good medicine, no science, it was like going back to the medieval ages where women wore dresses, men fought with swords not guns and doctors are corrupt and using “old-world” medicine. Normally I don’t mind medieval era books, except that this was difficult for me to imagine because it was literally set in the future. The future that looks like the past and I couldn’t understand why one would go back to the medieval ages of medicine when the present right now has us curing all sorts of diseases and illnesses?

Don’t get me wrong, I did like this book, in fact I give it 3.5 stars out of 5. But I had a hard time not picking apart everything. I loved all the other characters except the main character, which I thought to be petty and vain even though she contradicts her actions and words constantly. She’d always talk about how plain her is, how she should lose weight, how she is ugly and wishes she were beautiful but then contradicts with her, for lack of a better word, judgement of those who were beautiful? It was odd. Looking back on the book, I did like it- I read it in less than a day- I just, I don’t know exactly… Looking back on it to do this review I just realize so many things that bugged me, but didn’t hinder me from reading. I want to read it, I want to know what happens next but it’s not like the Harry Potter series or any other series that makes me NEED the next book. It’s hard to explain, honestly I think it is one of those books where you either love it or you hate it. I am a solid neutral on this book.

What did you think of the Queen of the Tearling? What are your thoughts on it becoming a movie starring Emma Watson? I, personally, would love to see Emma Watson play another heroine but I hope that the wrinkles in the book get ironed out before it hits the big screen.

Makayla

P.S. Also, do not listen to the reviews that say that this book is “the Hunger Games meets Game of Thrones.” It isn’t even close. Not one iota!

Leave a Reply

